Patent Application Grant (PAG)


Patent Application Grant

Objective

Launched in 1998, PAG aims to encourage local companies and inventors to capitalise their intellectual work through patent registration.

Eligibility

All locally incorporated companies, Hong Kong permanent residents or Hong Kong residents permitted to remain in Hong Kong for not less than 7 years which/who have never owned any patents in any countries or territories nor received funding under the PAG before will be eligible.

For individual applicants, the applicant must be the sole inventor or one of the joint inventors of the invention.

For company applicants, the inventor(s) of the invention shall be (a) directly related party/parties to the applicant company, e.g. owner, shareholder, director, or staff. As the PAG is for first-time patent seekers only, funding support will not be provided if funding has been granted under the PAG to the applicant company's related company(ies) (i.e. (1) company(ies) having a major shareholder (viz. those with 50% or more ownership) in common with the applicant company or (2) company(ies) without major shareholder(s) but having shareholders identical to those of the applicant company) before.

All applications for functional patents and inventions with technology elements and susceptible of industrial application are eligible. Cosmetic designs will not be supported. The implementation agent of the PAG, the Hong Kong Productivity Council (HKPC), will first conduct a patent search-cum-technical assessment to ensure that there is a reasonable chance of obtaining patent.

Key Features

Application

Two copies of the duly completed application form are to be submitted to the implementation agent, HKPC, or the Innovation and Technology Commission (ITC).

Assessment

Applications will be processed through HKPC on a confidential basis. Applicants must provide HKPC with details of their ideas or inventions. A patent search-cum-technical assessment will be conducted by HKPC, based on which ITC will decide whether the applications should be approved. ITC's decision will be final.

Frequently Asked Questions

Expand AllCollapse All

You can still apply for the PAG if you do not have any patents granted by any countries or territories when you apply for the PAG. However, the funds can only be used after your application has been approved by the Innovation and Technology Commission and will only be released to the implementation agent, HKPC, through which the patent application is to be administered.

The PAG is for covering the direct costs for patent search-cum-technical assessment and other direct costs involved in the patent application process. Examples are attorney fees, consultant fees and filing fees of patent applications. Other expenses, including any other costs incurred before the date of approval of the application and the renewal fees of granted patents, are not fundable.

No. The PAG can be used in applying for patents in or outside Hong Kong. However, a grant only of not more than HK$250,000 or 90% of the total direct costs of patent application, whichever is lower, will be provided to each approved application.

No. The PAG can be used to cover the direct expenses of patent registration, including filing fees, examination fees, issue fees, etc. To ensure that sufficient funding is available for the completion of at least one patent registration, a portion of the PAG funding ($70,000) will be reserved for covering expenses to be incurred in the procedures after the filing of the application(s) to patent office(s), i.e. the post-filing stage of patent application. The applicants may seek clarifications from HKPC in case of doubts.

The purpose of conducting the patent search-cum-technical assessment is to assess whether the invention is of novelty, inventiveness and industrial applicability, and to check from patent databases covering worldwide published patents or patent applications to identify any prior published patents or applications which are analogous to your invention so as to assess whether the invention has a reasonable chance to obtain an invention patent.

If the application is approved, the applicant has to appoint (a) patent agent(s) to handle the patent application. The eligibility requirements for the patent agents are set out in the "Guide for Patent Agents" issued by HKPC.

Others

You can obtain more information from HKPC as follows:

ENQUIRY

Hong Kong Productivity Council

ENQUIRY

Innovation and Technology Commission

專利申請資助計劃


專利申請資助計劃

目標

「專利申請資助計劃」於1998年推出,旨在鼓勵本地公司及發明者藉申請專利以保障其智慧成果,並把成果轉化為其資產。

申請資格

以往從未在任何國家或地區擁有任何專利及未曾獲「專利申請資助計劃」資助的本地註冊公司、香港永久居民或准予逗留本港不少於七年的香港居民均可提出申請。

如屬個人申請人,則申請人必須為該發明的唯一發明人或其中一名共同發明人。

如屬申請公司,則該發明的發明人均必須為與申請公司有直接關係的人士,例如東主、股東、董事或職員。由於本計劃旨在資助首次申請專利的公司或人士,因此如申請公司的關聯公司(即( 1 )任何一名大股東(指持有50% 或以上股權的股東)與申請公司的大股東為同一人的公司;或( 2 )沒有大股東但其股東與申請公司股東完全相同的公司)曾獲本計劃資助,則有關申請將不獲資助。

所有具備科技元素及能作工業應用的功能性專利品和發明均符合申請資格。外觀設計則不會獲得資助。本計劃的執行機構香港生產力促進局(下稱「生產力局」)會先進行專利檢索及技術評審,藉以肯定申請者的專利申請有一定的成功機會。

計劃特點

申請

將填妥的申請表格一式兩份遞交至執行機構生產力局或創新科技署。

評審

申請將交由生產力局以機密方式處理。申請者必須向生產力局提供其意念或發明的詳細資料,然後生產力局便會為申請的發明進行專利檢索及技術評審。創新科技署會根據生產力局的評審結果,決定應否向申請批出資助。創新科技署的決定屬最終決定。

常見問題

展開摺疊

只要你在申請本計劃前尚未在任何國家或地區獲批任何專利,便可以申請本計劃的資助。但資助金額只能在「專利申請資助計劃」批准後才能使用,而資助只會發放給執行機構生產力局以支付專利申請費用。

資助可用以支付專利檢索及技術評審的直接費用,以及有關專利申請所需的其他直接費用,例如律師費、顧問費和提交專利申請涉及的費用等。其他費用,包括申請獲批日期前產生的任何開支以及獲頒專利的續期費,將不獲資助。

不是。資助能用於申請香港或香港以外地區的專利;不過每項獲批准申請的最高資助金額為25 萬港元或專利申請直接費用總額的90%,以金額較低者為準。

不是。資助可用於支付有關專利申請所需的其他直接費用 (包括申請費,審查費,領証費等)。為確保有足夠資金來完成至少一項專利註冊,一部分的資助金額(70,000港元)將被預留用作支付在向專利機構提交專利申請後的程序中(亦即提交後階段)所產生的費用。如有疑問,可向生產力局查詢。

進行專利檢索及技術評審的目的是判斷申請人的發明是否有足夠新穎性、創造性和工業應用性,以及從覆蓋世界各地已發佈的專利和申請中專利的專利資料庫中檢查有關發明是否已被他人註冊,從而評審有關發明獲頒發明專利的機會。

倘若申請獲得批准,申請者必須委任專利代理處理相關的專利申請。有關專利代理人的條件要求,可參考由生產力局發布的「專利代理人指南」。

其他

你可與生產力局聯絡,以索取更多資料:

查詢

香港生產力促進局

查詢

創新科技署