Research Talent Hub for Technology Companies Conducting R&D Activities in Hong Kong (RTH-TC)


Research Talent Hub for Technology Companies Conducting R&D Activities in Hong Kong

Objective

Launched in July 2020, the RTH-TC aims to provide funding support for technology companies conducting or planning to conduct research and development (R&D) activities in Hong Kong to engage research talents to conduct R&D work. The RTH-TC merged the previous Researcher Programme and Postdoctoral Hub for technology companies conducting R&D activities in Hong Kong.

Eligibility

Applicant Company

Research Talent

R&D Activities

For the purpose of the RTH-TC, an R&D activity means

  1. an activity in the fields of natural or applied science to extend knowledge;
  2. an original and planned investigation carried on with the prospect of gaining new scientific or technical knowledge and understanding; or
  3. the application of research findings or other knowledge to a plan or design for producing or introducing new or substantially improved materials, devices, products, processes, systems or services before they are commercially produced or used.

In general, an R&D activity takes place when a project seeks to achieve an advance in science or technology. Any activity which does not directly contribute to achieving this advance in science or technology through the resolution of scientific or technological uncertainty is not an R&D activity.

Key Features

Application

The RTH-TC invites applications for funding all year round. Applications should be submitted through the Innovation and Technology Commission Funding Administrative System. Please read the "RTH-TC Application Guide" before submitting an application.

APPLY NOW

Frequently Asked Questions

Expand AllCollapse All

The applicant company should ensure that the talent selection process is open, fair and without prejudice to any candidates. To avoid conflict of interest, in selecting a research talent, the applicant company must not engage a research talent who is the proprietor, partner, shareholder or management of the applicant company or their relatives. The applicant company or any person/staff authorised by the applicant company to handle or in any way to be involved in the selection process should declare that they have no actual or potential conflict of interest; or otherwise should not participate in the selection process.

Yes. Any non-local research talents who are eligible under the RTH, including those admitted under TechTAS, can benefit from the RTH. The concerned talent must possess a bachelor´╝Ćmaster degree awarded by a local university or a doctoral degree from either a local university or a well-recognised non-local institution. The degree obtained should be in a STEM-related discipline.

No. The research talent being engaged should conduct the R&D work of the applicant company on a full-time basis. The applicant company should comply with the relevant legislative requirements concerning the employment of the talent.

No. The monthly allowance should be paid in full towards the actual lump sum monthly remuneration for the research talent. No other allowances, overhead or fringe benefits, etc. should be payable from the RTH.

The RTH-TC does not have a prescribed definition on "technology company" by itself. The eligibility lies in whether the company's activities and work assigned to the research talent meet the definition of "R&D Activities" as stated in the Application Guide.

The applicant company has to ensure that an open recruitment has been done for the research talent position under application to ensure fairness. A copy of the concerned recruitment advertisement is required to be submitted with the application as a supporting document. For the recruitment, the RTH-TC does not restrict existing employees from applying for the post concerned.

In general, related companies with separate Business Registration numbers and conducting different R&D activities could separately apply under the RTH-TC.

The applicant company can either employ the research talent before application or after approval of the application. In any event, an open and fair recruitment has to be done before submission of a RTH-TC application to the ITC. Funding support for engaging the talent will only commence after the application is approved and the Government will not be responsible for any expenses incurred if the application is not successful.

Others

Incubatees and I&T tenants of the Hong Kong Science & Technology Parks Corporation (HKSTPC) and the Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited (Cyberport) should apply under the RTH-SPC.

ENQUIRY

研究人才庫
(適用於在香港進行研發活動的科技公司)


研究人才庫

目標

於2020年7月推出的「科技公司研究人才庫」,旨在提供資助予正在或擬在香港進行研究和發展(研發)活動的科技公司,以聘用研究人才從事研發工作。「科技公司研究人才庫」整合了此前適用於為在港進行研發活動的科技公司而設的「研究員計劃」及「博士專才庫」。

申請資格

申請公司

研究人才

研發活動

就「科技公司研究人才庫」而言,研發活動指

  1. 為拓展知識而進行的自然科學或應用科學方面的活動;
  2. 在有機會取得新的科學或技術上的知識及理解的情況下進行的原創性及經規劃的調查;或
  3. 在任何新的(或經相當程度的改進的)物料、裝置、產品、程序、系統或服務的商業生產或運用前,將研究所得或其他知識,應用於為生產或引進該等物料、裝置、產品、程序、系統或服務而作的方案或設計。

一般而言,尋求達至科學或科技進展的項目即屬研發活動。在透過解決科學或科技上的不確定之處,而達至科學或科技的進展方面,任何並非直接作出貢獻的活動,均不屬於研發活動。

計劃特點

申請

「科技公司研究人才庫」全年接受申請。申請可經創新科技署基金管理系統提交。請在提交申請前細閱「科技公司研究人才庫」申請指南

立即申請

常見問題

展開摺疊

申請公司須確保研究人才的甄選過程公開公平,並對所有應徵者一視同仁。為避免利益衝突,在甄選研究人才時,申請公司所聘用的研究人才不得為申請公司的東主、合夥人、股東、管理層或其親屬。申請公司或獲申請公司授權處理甄選過程的任何人士/員工,或在任何方面涉及甄選過程的任何人士/員工,應聲明他們沒有任何實際或潛在利益衝突,否則不應參與甄選過程。

可以。任何符合「研究人才庫」要求的非本地人才,包括按「科技人才入境計劃」輸入的研究人才,均可受惠於「研究人才庫」。合資格參與計劃的研究人才須為本地大學學士或碩士學位畢業生,或為本地大學或具特別認受性的非本地院校的博士學位畢業生。獲頒授的學位須為科學、科技、工程和數學(「STEM」)相關的學科。

不可以。參與「研究人才庫」的研究人才須獲申請公司全職聘用。申請公司須遵守與僱用研究人才有關的法規,包括非本地人才的相關入境/簽證要求。

不可以。每月津貼須全數用以支付研究人才實際收取的一筆過月薪,申請公司不得以任何理由扣起全部或部分每月津貼。本計劃不會額外支付其他津貼、間接費用或附帶福利等。

「科技公司研究人才庫」並無就「科技公司」作出定義。其資格在於公司的活動及分配予研究人才的工作是否符合申請指南中所述之「研發活動」定義。

為確保公平,申請公司需確保已為所申請的研究人才職位完成公開的甄選。申請公司需提交有關職位的招聘廣告副本作為證明文件。計劃並不限制現職員工申請有關研究人才職位。

一般而言,從事不同研發工作及擁有不同商業登記號碼的關聯公司可獨立申請「科技公司研究人才庫」。

申請公司可在提交申請前或申請獲批後僱用該人才。無論如何,申請公司需確保向創新科技署提交申請前已完成公平及公開的甄選程序。有關資助只會於申請獲批後開始。如申請不成功,政府對任何相應產生的開支概不負責。

其他

香港科技園公司(科技園公司)和香港數碼港管理有限公司(數碼港)的培育公司及從事創科工作的租戶,應向「科技園公司及數碼港研究人才庫」提出申請。

查詢